Hacienda Araucano (Chile)

 

«If I were a vine, I would choose to be planted in Chile» François Lurton

This long country stretching down alongside the Andes Cordillera mountains seems to be a true paradise for vines, with its particularly stable climate and, therefore, a very low risk of disease for the plants. It is notably thanks to these geographical factors that our Chilean vineyard was one of the first to be converted to a biodynamic culture.

François and Jacques Lurton found this “dream land” whilst working as consultants for the San Pedro vineyards. The first bottles of Araucano, the name of the last of Chile’s indigenous people, saw the light in 1997. In 2000, François bought 200 hectares of land in the valley of Colchagua. Although he had never before owned vines in this area, the acquisition was no accident: the influence of the oceanic climate moderates the heat that comes from the valley. The difference of the temperature during the day and during the night allows the grapes to reach exceptional levels of maturity. The valley is divided into particularly varied microclimates, which, in turn, and thanks to blending, allows for the production of incredibly complex wines.

Today François Lurton continues to explore different possibilities, notably by planting grape varieties that need cooler climates, such as Sauvignon or Pinot Noir, in higher altitude areas. In 2012, wines issued from Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Noir and Syrah obtained their organic certification. In 2013, Hacienda Araucano is set to obtain the official « biodynamic » certificate (Demeter). Continuing in this approach of making wines that are as natural as possible, we made our first sulphur-free wine in 2012, a Humo Blanco Carménère.

Maintaining a policy of decreasing energy consumption and securing our irrigation capacity, we have invested in a reservoir with a volume of 45,000 m3. This water storage facility will enable us to collect some of the abundant rain that is concentrated in the winter period from the drainage basin of our property. The volume of this reservoir covers 30% of the annual requirements of the 30 Ha of vines. This investment will give us a degree of security in the face of climate changes and possible variations in the groundwater supply, with a view to preserving the quality of the wines at the «Clos de Lolol». This project means that the Viña Hacienda Araucano is the first vineyard on the American continent to be powered with 100% solar energy.

Location  btn panorama chili

Hacienda Araucano is located just outside the small historic village of Lolol in Chile’s Colchagua Valley, just over two hours’ drive south of Santiago down the Route 5. It lies 30 km west of Santa Cruz, its closest town.

The estate is located in a valley that runs from East to West which funnels cold air from the Pacific Ocean. The difference in temperature between the sea and the land causes a white fog to develop, the ‘Humo Blanco’, which can be seen most mornings just above the vineyards of our estate. It marks the limit of how far the fog reaches inland.

carte_chilig

Climate

The climate is hot during the day and very dry but the oceanic breezes and morning fogs from the Pacific (only 40km away), cool the temperatures and make the area more temperate. Most of the rain (650mm per year) falls in winter months (so irrigation is needed). Temperatures fall to -2°C in the winter and rise no higher than 28°C in the summer months. Nights are always cool.

Vineyard

VINEYARDS de Lolol SIZE : 28 hectares Vineyard Chomedaue: Size 15 hectaresOur vineyard at Chomedaue lies on flat land behind Santa Cruz. It is trained in pergola with the bunches of grapes hanging down below the foliage. This protects the grapes from sun scorch. The viticulture here is organic. EXPOSITION : North-facing slopes (equivalent to the northern hemisphere’s south-facing)

Soil

The terroir here is very much adapted to Pinot Noir and Syrah. Depending on the exposition of the vineyard plots; we have chosen to grow these varieties to benefit from the variety of soils and the exposition of our vineyards. Sauvignon also excels here. Picking is done early to benefit from the aromatic peak of the grapes.

Hacienda Araucano (Chili)

«Si j’étais un plant de vigne, je choisirais d’être planté au Chili». François Lurton

Ce long pays s’étirant le long de la Cordillère des Andes semble être un véritable paradis pour la vigne avec un climat particulièrement stable et donc très peu de risques maladies pour le vignoble. C’est notamment grâce à ces facteurs géographiques que nous avons choisi de tester la conversion à la culture biodynamique sur notre vignoble chilien.

François et Jacques Lurton ont découvert cette « terre promise » grâce à leur activité de consultants pour les vignobles San Pedro. Les premières bouteilles d’Araucano – nom du dernier peuple indigène du Chili – voient le jour en 1997.

En 2000, c’est dans la Vallée de Colchagua que François achète 200 hectares de terre. S’il n’y a encore jamais eu de vignoble à cet endroit, le choix de ce terroir est tout sauf un hasard : l’influence du climat océanique tempère les fortes chaleurs de la vallée. L’amplitude thermique importante entre le jour et la nuit permet aux baies d’atteindre d’exceptionnels niveaux de maturité. La vallée, enfin, est divisée en micro climats particulièrement variés qui permettent, grâce à un fin travail d’assemblage, de produire des vins étonnamment complexes. Aujourd’hui, François Lurton continue d’explorer différentes possibilités, notamment en réalisant des plantations en altitude avec des cépages demandant plus de fraîcheur, comme le Sauvignon ou encore le Pinot Noir. La qualité exceptionnelle du climat a permis d’entreprendre la conversion du domaine à la biodynamie, qui s’achèvera en 2013 avec l’obtention du label international Demeter. Toujours dans le même esprit, celui de réaliser des vins les plus naturels possibles, nous avons réalisé en 2012 notre première cuvée sans soufre, un Humo Blanco Carmenère.

Enfin, pour diminuer la consommation énergétique et sécuriser la capacité d’arrosage de nos vignobles, un bassin accumulateur de 45.000m3 vient d’être achevé. Il permet de récupérer les eaux de pluies, abondantes et concentrées en hiver, et de les redistribuer, via une pompe alimentée par des panneaux solaires vers l’ensemble de nos 30 hectares de vignes. Ce projet fait de la Viña Hacienda Araucano le premier vignoble du continent américain alimenté avec une énergie 100% solaire.

Situation

  btn panorama chili

L’Hacienda Araucano est située tout près du village historique de Lolol, dans la Vallée de Colchagua, à 2 heures de route de Santiago, sur la Route 5. À 30km à l’Ouest, Santa Cruz est la ville la plus proche.

Le domaine est situé dans une vallée qui s’étend d’Est en Ouest et qui reçoit l’air froid de l’océan Pacifique. La différence de température entre la mer et la terre provoque une brume blanche, l’ «Humo Blanco», qui est visible tous les matins juste au-dessus de nos vignes. Il démarque la limite de notre vignoble.

carte_chilig

Climat

Le climat est chaud et très sec la journée mais les vents Océaniques et les brouillards matinaux venus du Pacifique (à seulement 40km), rafraîchissent l’atmosphère et tempèrent la chaleur. La majorité des précipitations (650 mm par an) tombe pendant les mois d’hiver, nous avons donc besoin d’un système d’irrigation. Les températures peuvent tomber jusqu’à -2°C en hiver et montent jusqu’à 35°C en été. Les nuits sont toujours tempérées voire fraîches. La température de cette région ne monte que quand le soleil se montre, sinon nous restons à la température de la mer, aux alentours de 15°C.

Vignobles

Superficie du vignoble de Lolol : 26 hectares Superficie du vignoble de Chomedahue : 15 hectares. Notre vignoble de Chomedahue s’étend dans la Vallée de Santa Cruz. Il est en pergola (les grappes de raisin pendent en dessous du feuillage). Cela protège les raisins des rayons du soleil. La viticulture est ici organique. Exposition : Exposé au Nord (équivalent à une exposition au Sud dans l’hémisphère Nord)

Terroir

Le terroir est ici très bien adapté au Pinot Noir et à la Syrah. Selon l’exposition des parcelles, nous avons choisi de cultiver ces variétés en fonction des sols et de l’exposition de nos vignobles. Le Sauvignon Blanc excelle également ici. On le vendange tôt, au pic aromatique sur dégustation des baies. Le Chili est un pays très étroit pris entre la Cordillère des Andes et l’océan Pacifique, ainsi qu’une chaîne de collines près de la côte qui lui confère son climat unique et bien adapté à la culture de la vigne.