François Lurton’s Estates (France)

In the mid 1980’s, François and Jacques Lurton, originally from the ‘Entre Deux Mers’ region, are on the lookout for new vineyards for the family production. They learn of the wonderful potential of the ‘terroirs’ of southern France. They start to purchase for their varietal wines, that are distributed the world over, and establish privileged relationships with numerous wine makers in the area. In 1996, François falls in love with the Grenache wines from Mas Janeil and in 2008 he goes on to buy the property. The ‘terroir’, composed of schist, allows the bunches to reach a perfect state of maturation, which in turn, gives the wines flavors of cherry and wild spices, concentration and elegance.

In 1996, captivated by the Vallée de l’Agly and its stunning landscapes, the two brothers took the plunge and rented an estate by the name of Mas Janeil, with land spread between Maury and Tautavel. The old Grenache vines of this estate very quickly showed all their potential as well as their diff erent characteristics. As the Mas Janeil vineyard straddles a geological fault, there is a wide variety of diff erent types of soil. At the foot of the Château de Quéribus, the soil is essentially composed of limestone and granite, whereas the “Pas de la Mule” land features considerable shale. After ten years of tax farming, François eventually bought Mas Janeil in 2008. He built a new wine storehouse on this site and partially reinstalled an old irrigation system. The production alternates between “single-terroir” and blended wines.

Situation Languedoc-Roussillon

The property extends over 70 hectares with 24 hectares planted with vines. It is located in the commune of Tautavel which lies in the Pyrenées -Orientales, northwest of Perpignan. This is Cathar country and the historic Château de Queribus overlooks the estate. The Mas Janeil vineyard is an unusual place, with no agricultural capacity, where the vine has to send its roots deep into the earth to find nourishment.

carte-roussillon

The climate is Mediterranean with hot dry summers and mild winters. Rainfall levels are extremely low and mostly fall in the winter months leaving the vines to suffer in the arid soils from hydric stress during the hot summers. The vineyards are constantly buffeted by the wind, either the cold, dry “Tramontane” wind coming from the North West, or the hot and humid “Marin” wind coming from the Mediterranean Sea.

Vineyards

The planting density is low at around 3600 vines per hectare. The vineyards are planted with 50 years old vines of Grenache (60%), Carignan (30%), Syrah and Mourvedre. The vines are gobelet (bush) trained to help the vines combat the dry conditions. They are planted on sunny steep south-facing slopes and are surrounded by ‘la garrigue’ scrubland. Yields are very low of concentrated grapes of around 25 hl/ha. The vineyards are planted in squares (1,75m by 1,75m), as was customary in the past, long before the arrival of mechanisation, as the horses and ploughs were able to work the vineyards in both directions.

Terroir

The «terroir» is exceptional, composed of stones from the slow erosion of the Corbières hills. Thanks to the varied schists, shale, sands and large limestone rocks, the grapes are able to reach perfect levels of ripeness.

Domaines François Lurton (France)

François découvre l’immense potentiel du Languedoc Roussillon au milieu des années 80, alors qu’il est à la recherche de terroirs différents, alternatifs à Bordeaux. Ce n’est qu’en 1991 qu’ils vinifient avec son frère leurs premiers vins au Domaine Les Salices, dans le Minervois. D’abord pour répondre à la demande anglaise, les frères élaborent des vins de cépage, mais très rapidement, ils sont frappés par la grande variété de terroirs et de climats de cette région et décident d’investir dans des domaines.

En 1996, impressionnés par la Vallée de l’Agly, avec ses paysages exceptionnels, les deux frères se lancent et louent une propriété, Mas Janeil, dont les parcelles sont réparties entre Maury et Tautavel. Très vite, les parcelles de vieux grenaches de ce domaine montrent leur potentiel et aussi leurs différences. En effet, le vignoble du Mas Janeil étant à cheval sur une faille géologique, on y trouve une grande variété de sols différents. Ainsi, au pied du château de Quéribus, le sol est plutôt constitué de calcaire et de granit, alors que la Parcelle du « Pas de la Mule » présente une grande densité de schistes. Finalement, après 10 ans de fermage, François rachète le Mas Janeil en 2008. Il y construit un nouveau chai et réinstalle partiellement un ancien système d’irrigation. Les vins qui y sont produits sont alternativement des cuvées « mono terroirs » et des assemblages.

Situation Languedoc-Roussillon

La propriété s’étend sur 70 hectares dont 24 ha plantés de vignes. Elle est située sur la commune de Tautavel, au pied des Pyrénées Orientales au Nord-Ouest de Perpignan. Le vignoble est au cœur du pays cathare, le château de Queribus surplombe la propriété. Le Mas Janeil est un vignoble unique qui n’a pas une grande capacité agricole et où la vigne puise au plus profond pour se nourrir.

carte-roussillon

C’est un climat méditerranéen aux étés chauds et aux hivers tempérés. Les pluies sont rares et tombent la plupart du temps en hiver, ce qui laisse la vigne souffrir de stress hydrique sur les sols arides pendant les étés très chauds. Les vignes sont constamment secouées par la « Tramontane », vent froid et sec, venant du Nord-Ouest ou par le « Marin », vent chaud et humide qui arrive de la mer Méditerranée.

Vignobles

La faible densité de la vigne est d’environ 3600 pieds par hectare. Le vignoble est composé de vignes de Grenache (60%) d’une soixantaine d’années, de Syrah (30%) et de Mourvèdre. Les vignes sont taillées en gobelet pour supporter les conditions difficiles, ce qui leur donne un port buissonnant. Elles sont plantées sur la face Sud très ensoleillée couverte de garrigue. Les rendements sont faibles, environ 25 hl/ha. Les vignes sont disposées en carré (1 m sur 1 m) comme elles l’étaient dans le passé, avant l’arrivée de la mécanisation afin que les chevaux et les charrues puissent passer dans les vignobles dans les deux directions.

Terroir

C’est un terroir exceptionnel composé par les pierres issues de la lente érosion du Massif des Corbières. Grâce aux différentes variétés de schistes, de sable et de roches calcaires, les raisins peuvent ainsi atteindre le parfait niveau de maturité.